The new Board of the Russian Arbitration Center is formed

Gerard David

The Judgement of Cambyses, 1498

The new Board of the Russian Arbitration Center is formed

On 20 January 2020, according to the results of the arbitrators’ voting the new Board of the RAC was formed consisting of 14 members

First of all, we are happy to welcome the Russian and foreign colleagues who joined the Board this year:

  • Anton Asoskov – member of the Presidium of the International Commercial Arbitration Court at the Chamber of Commerce and Industry of the Russian Federation, Professor at the Lomonosov Moscow State University, LL.D, MCIArb
  • Andrey Gorlenko – Attorney-at-law, Partner at Ivanyan & Partners, MCIArb
  • Andrey Panov – Counsel at Allen & Overy Legal Services, FCIArb
  • Mikhail Ivanov – Partner and Head of the Russian Arbitration and Litigation Practice at Dentons (St. Petersburg)
  • David W. Rivkin – Co-Chair of the International Dispute Resolution Group at Debevoise & Plimpton, former President of the International Bar Association (IBA)
  • Prof. Dr. Klaus Peter Berger, LL.M. – Professor and Chair of the Department of Civil Law, German and International Commercial, Economic and Banking Law, Private International Law and Comparative Law at University of Cologne
  • Neil Trevor Kaplan, QC, JP, CBE, SBS – Independent international arbitrator
  • Francis Xavier, SC, PBM – President of the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators (CIArb), President of IPBA, Partner at Rajah & Tann, FCIArb
  • The Right Honourable Dame Elizabeth Gloster, DBE, PC – International commercial arbitrator at One Essex Court, former Vice-President of the Civil Division of the Court of Appeal (England and Wales)

The RAC Board has also formed two subcommittees: on the arbitration of domestic disputes and on international arbitration. Information about composition could be found here.

Moreover, three years after formation there was the first rotation of the Board per RAC Arbitration Rules. As a result of the rotation, Roman Bevzenko, Rustem Miftahutdinov, Alyona Kucher and Alexander Sergeev are no longer members of the Board. The colleagues have significantly contributed to the development of professional arbitration being the Board’s members and we are hoping that they continue to act as arbitrators.

Out of the Presidium formed in 2017, Viktor Batsiev, Anna Grishchenkova, Yury Pilipenko, Dmitry Stepanov and Elena Uksusova will continue to perform their functions.

The Board of the Russian Arbitration Center is a main collegial body of the Institute and perform functions of the appointments’ committee, including those on appointment, challenge and termination of the arbitrator’s duties. The Board is elected by persons included into United Recommended List of Arbitrators and is subject to partial rotation every three years.